FEMA Offers Grants for Preparedness Programs

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) provides both state and local governments the opportunity for preparedness program funding through its federal grant programs. These non-disaster grants are offered to enhance the capacity of state and local emergency responders to prevent, respond to, and recover from a weapons of mass destruction terrorism incident involving chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, and explosive devices and cyber-attacks. There are currently eight different grant programs offered by FEMA, in addition to its Assistance to Firefighters Grant Program.

One of the requirements emergency organizations must meet in order to qualify for federal grant funding is they must have adopted the National Incident Management System (NIMS). NIMS is a comprehensive, nationwide systematic approach to incident management. The system uses a core set of doctrine, concepts, principles, terminology and organizational processes for all hazards and offers standardized resource management procedures for coordination among different jurisdictions and organizations. 

NIMS is based on creating a proactive system that assists emergency responders during incidents or events and focuses on five key components:

  • Preparedness
  • Communications and Information Management
  • Resource Management
  • Command and Management
  • Ongoing Management and Maintenance

 By offering a universally consistent and flexible national framework, NIMS provides a way in which government and private entities at all levels can work together to manage domestic incidents, whatever the cause, size, location or complexity.


Emergency Film Group’s NIMS: Introduction to the National Incident Management System DVD provides NIMS video training describing response protocols for hazardous materials, terrorist, and other major incidents. Focus is on the Incident Command System. To learn more, read here. . .

Previous article High Percentage of Chemical Accidents in Schools are Preventable